Resources for Parents and Family Members

"I appreciated it when you said that

the only way to get better at communication is to practice."

- a Clark County Parent

"I can take an active role in teaching my children & setting a good example."

- a Clark County Parent



Web Sites:
 

Talking With Your Kids  to your kids about alcohol and drugs. Help our kids to distinguish fact from fiction

Auto Safety Library: Don't Drive Under the Influence http://www.autoinsurancerate.com/auto-safety-library-dont-drive-under-the-influence/

Alcohol Screening http://www.alcoholscreening.org


The Anti-Drug http://www.theantidrug.com/ and http://www.theantidrug.com/resources

Parenting tips, advice, drug information for parents available in multiple languages


Aspen Education Group http://www.aspeneducation.com/

Provides educational services to youth and their families. The site features a thorough list of parenting resources.


The Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth http://camy.org

 


Children of Alcoholics Foundation http://www.coaf.org/

A national non-profit that provides a range of educational materials and services to help professionals, children and adults break the intergenerational cycle of parental substance abuse.


College Alcohol Study http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/cas/

 


Don't Serve Teens  http://www.dontserveteens.gov/dangers.htm

 


Education http://www.acde.org/

A substance abuse prevention and education agency that develops programs and materials based on the most current scientific research on drug use and its impact on society.

 


Five Moms http://www.fivemoms.com/

Cough medicine abuse prevention.

  

 

Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse and Violence Prevention www.higheredcenter.org Web site designed to heolp campuses and communiteis address problems of alcohol, other drugs and violence


Join Together  http://www.drugfree.org/join-together


National Drug Prevention Resources            

http://www.lifeinsurancequotes.org/additional-resources/drug-prevention-resources/


Mothers Against Drunk Driving http://www.madd.org/

MADD focuses on effective solutions to drunk driving and underage drinking problems.


National Families in Action http://www.emory.edu/NFIA/index.html

Working to prevent drug abuse among children by promoting policies based on science.


National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/


National Institute on Drug Abuse http://teens.drugabuse.gov/
Information for teens


National Youth Network http://www.nationalyouth.com/

The mission of National Youth Network is to educate parents of troubled teens on child behavior including attention deficit disorder, ADD, ADHD, drug abuse, teen depression, behavior modification or intervention programs such as wilderness programs, boarding schools, residential treatment and other adolescent programs.

Parenting is Prevention http://www.parentingisprevention.org/

Provides resources to assist parents in raising children to be healthy, drug-free, adults.

Parent-Teen.com Online magazine for families with teens
http://www.parent-teen.com/substances/poisoning.html


Partnership for a Drug Free America www.drugfree.org/parent/home



The SAM Spady Foundation http://www.samspadyfoundation.org/


Silent Treatment- Addiction in America
http://www.silenttreatment.info/index.html
Struggling Teens
http://www.strugglingteens.com/ 

A resource for parents & professionals trying to help at-risk teenagers.

 

Stop Alcohol Abuse http://www.stopalcoholabuse.gov/parents.aspx

Tips for parents to talk to their kids about underage drinking

 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Association (SAMHSA) http://family.samhsa.gov/stop/talk.aspx

Tips for parents to talk to their children about substance abuse


Too Smart to Start http://www.toosmarttostart.samhsa.gov/

An underage alcohol use prevention initiative for parents, caregivers, and their 9-to-13 year-old children.


Washington
State Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking http://www.starttalkingnow.org/
Washington State Liquor Control Board http://www.liq.wa.gov/


Books:
Buzzed: The Straight Facts About the Most Used and Abused Drugs from Alcohol to Ecstasy (WW Norton, 2008) by Cynthia Kuhn, Scott Swartzwelder and Wilkie Wilson

Dying to Drink: Confronting Binge Drinking on College Campuses (Rodale Books, 2003) by Henry Wechsler and Bernice Wuethrich

From Binge to Blackout: A Mother and Son Struggle with Teen Drinking (North American Library, 2006) by Chris Volkmann and Toren Volkmann

Smashed: Story of a Drunken Girlhood (Penguin, 2006) by Koren Zailckas

click here to view site